Tags

, , ,

Hello to all my peoples!

Last year I read so many books, but didn’t keep track of them. This year is gonna be different. These posts aren’t going to have fixed dates, they’ll happen when I finish a book and/or when I start one. No schedule=No stress. I might also do monthly wrap-ups, after January of course, but it’s not definite. Oh, these are in no way reviews, so there.

I just finished reading The Adventurers Guide to Successful Escapes by Wade Albert White. And I gotta tell ya, that is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. It’s funny, easy to understand and follow, and its pretty original (at least, I’ve never read anything like it). Long story short- I loved it. I can’t wait to read the next book. I give this book a 4.9/5 rating ;).

You can find this book at Goodreads here.

After an unsuccessful attempt at The Giver (it literally made me throw up. How can people write stuff like that?!) and about a week of being afraid to read anything new, I decided to read The Last Train North by Clifton L. Taulbert. I don’t usually read books like this but since its been sitting on my shelf for so long I thought I’d take a stab at it. I want to write a synopsis (thats the right word, right?) before I read so that I’m unbiased.

The Last Train North is the story of a young black man who travels to St. Louis thinking that people of all colors were living peacefully side by side. Based in the 1960s, this book follows Taulbert as he arrives in St. Louis and finds that its nothing like what he had been told, or what he had dreamed.

Thats basically all I know about this book right now, but I can’t wait to get started!

You can find this book on Goodreads here

Till we meet again,

Alex C.

