C0374176-8BEB-48E0-B573-85CCA75FDC3F

Hello, hello! I am JoBeth, the creator of a lovely little book blog called Blue Binding. (There’s a link at the bottom if you’re interested). I have been graciously invited to do a guest post here on Lord of the Trekkies, and I am super excited! I am a pretty new blogger and this will be my first guest post. Thank you Alex for this opportunity!

I LOVE quotes, and I have a little book filled with them. So, I thought it would be fun to combine two of my favorite things (books and quotes) into a blog post. Without further ado, here is a compilation of some of my very favorite quotes from books. I hope you enjoy!

“Even in the future, the story begins with Once Upon a Time.”

-Marissa Meyer, Cinder

First of all, The Lunar Chronicles is probably my favorite series. And, what a better way to start off a wonderful series than with something like that? It hints at something well-known, but there is a unique twist that suits the story perfectly.

“But… books are so much more. Some of them are webs; you can feel your way along their threads, but just barely, into strange and dark corners. Some of them are balloons bobbing up through the sky: totally self-contained, and unreachable, but beautiful to watch. And some of them– the best ones– are doors.”

-Lauren Oliver, Pandemonium

Books!! I absolutely adore Lauren Oliver’s writing style. It is so descriptive and powerful and captivating. She perfectly describes what it’s like being a reader, as well as the rest of the scenes in her books.

“He who leaps for the sky may fall, it’s true. But he may also fly.”

-Lauren Oliver, Delirium

I really like this quote because it is about taking risks and not being afraid of what may come. It’s about doing things because of the possibility of an amazing outcome and not worrying about getting hurt. Again, Lauren Oliver because she truly is great! If you have not read any of her books, I highly recommend them!

“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time.”

-Marie Lu, Legend

The message here is really valuable. This is Day’s explanation as to why he chose his name, and it’s a pretty good reason if you ask me. To “take it all one day at a time” is some pretty good advice, especially when things are a little rough, you always know there is tomorrow. And again, Marie Lu’s books are pretty fantastic, so definitely check ’em out! (Maybe literally, if you’re a library person… haha see what I did there?)

“You have me. Until the last star in the galaxy dies. You have me.”

-Amie Kaufman, Illuminae

First of all, this book is crazy! There are pictures/graphics that make each page seem like a document, an email, or an IM, and there’s lots of cute relationships going on. Kady and Ezra find that they would do anything for each other, and this can be seen by the quote above. I just love their relationship and how it evolves throughout the book.

“Life is a gift. Don’t forget to live it.”

-Nicola Yoon, Everything, Everything

I fell in love with both of Nicola Yoon’s books: Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also a Star. They communicated the importance of living your life the way you choose, and not the way others may think it should be. They also had really cute romances, which I tend to enjoy.

“True love is usually the most inconvenient kind.”

“I hope you find someone you can’t live without. I really do. And I hope you never have to know what it’s like to have to try and live without them.”

-Kiera Cass, The Selection

I have only recently been reading The Selection, but I have really enjoyed it. America and Maxon have such a cute relationship, and I think they are showing how wonderful it is to have someone that you care about.

“I may be the last one, but I am the one still standing. I am the one turning to face the faceless hunter in the woods on an abandoned highway. I am the one not running but facing. Because if I am the last one, then I am humanity. And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.”

-Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

The writing in this series is phenomenal. It is SO powerful. There are some pretty crazy themes going on, too. Like, humanity? That’s pretty deep man. I could pull a million quotes from this book simply because they really make you think. And a lot of them are kind of crazy. I remember reading this and having to stop and go “wow”.

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

-Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor and Park

Oh, another cute romance. I actually chose to read this book for a school project, but I ended up loving it. Rowell’s writing style can be pretty powerful as well. And art! I love art, and she explains it perfectly!

“Every form of art is another way of seeing the world. Another perspective, another window. And science– that’s the most spectacular window of all. You can see the entire universe from there.”

-Claudia Gray, A Thousand Pieces of You

Look at that, art again! (This was not purposeful, it just happened that way!) When we combine it with science we’ve got everything. I also enjoyed Claudia Gray’s writing style, as it was very fun to read. This trilogy has a lot about romance too, but I found this quote particularly interesting.

“Be a little kinder than you have to.”

“Do not accept an evil you can change.”

“Always do what you’re afraid to do.”

-E. Lockhart, We Were Liars

Again, the writing here is exceptional. It is raw and full of emotion. It is a bit choppy at times, but I can see that is purely for emphasis. This was a crazy book, and I really like many of the quotes from it.

Thank you for taking time to read my guest post! If you enjoyed it (or just like books) check out my blog: Blue Binding.

Chat with me! Do you love quotes? What kinds of writing styles do you enjoy?

